Governance structure


ANFF was established in 2007 through an Australian Government investment under the National Collaborative Research Infrastructure Strategy (NCRIS). It has received further government investment through the federal Education Infrastructure Fund (EIF) and NSW, Qld, SA, Vic and WA state governments, and also substantial financial and in-kind support from member organisations. In order to oversee the distribution of funding, to implement directives from the various advisory committees and a board of directors, and to govern the facility in general, ANFF Limited (ANFF) was established as a company limited by guarantee and incorporated in Victoria.

Today, a Board of Directors consider recommendations made by an International Advisory Committee and a Strategic Advisory Committee (composed of the Node Directors and chaired by the CEO) on the future development of the ANFF beyond the initial program and to ensure the network stays nationally and internationally relevant to fabrication trends and demands.

The ANFF Board

Emeritus Professor Chris Fell AM

Chair of the Board

Former Deputy Vice Chancellor (Research and International) UNSW;
Experienced public sector researcher and company director; Facilitator of NCRIS Fabrication Investment proposal; Former President of Federation of Australian Scientific and Technological Societies (FASTS now Science Technology Australia); Membership of Prime-Minister’s Science, Engineering and Innovation Council,
Chair and member of Commonwealth and State review panels; and Commissioner, NSW Independent Planning Commission.

Area of Expertise:

Engineering; public sector R&D

Andrew Brawley

Board Member, Chair of Audit and Risk Management Committee

Former Vice-President Manufacturing, Silanna Semiconductors and CEO Sapphicon Semiconductors. Extensive experience in, and knowledge of, the semiconductor industry especially in Australia. Long standing experience in financial management.

Area of Expertise:

Semiconductor Industry, finance

Dr Colin White

Board Member, Member of Industry Committee

Over 30 years of experience in technology-centric business covering all facets from ideation through to global commercialisation. Current role is global leader of Leica Biosystems advanced staining and imaging business with R&D and manufacturing sites in Melbourne, Newcastle-Upon-Tyne, Boston, Bangalore, Amsterdam and Carlsbad. Prior to this, Colin was CEO of lnvetech.

Area of Expertise:

Technology management, R&D and commercialisation

Dr Deborah Rathjen

Board Member, Member of Industry Committee

Former Deputy Chair of the Australian Biotechnology Advisory Council; A member of the Prime Minister’s Science Engineering and Innovation Council, the NHMRC’s Human Genetics Advisory Committee and the Innovation Australia Board; Variety of roles including Business Development and Licensing; and Significant experience in company building and financing, mergers and acquisitions, therapeutic product research and development. Currently, Chief Executive Officer of Carina Biotech

Area of Expertise:

Business development and licensing, company building and financing, mergers and acquisitions, therapeutic product R&D

Dr Elaine Saunders

Board Member, Member of Industry Committee.

Dr Elaine Saunders is the Managing Director of Bingarra Ltd and co-founder of Blarney Saunders Hears, and is an award-winning businesswoman, audiologist, academic, adjunct professor in the faculty of Science, Engineering & Technology, Swinburne University and a member of its Bio devices Advisory Board. Her accolades include being awarded Bio Melbourne Network’s inaugural Women in Leadership Award in 2015, Asia’s Leading Woman in Healthcare in 2011, the Victorian Pearcey Entrepreneur Award in 2011, and the American Academy of Audiology’s Award for Achievement in Industry in 2010. Elaine was awarded the 2012 Melbourne Award for Contribution to Community by an Individual, and is one of Australia’s 100 most influential women (2015).

Area of Expertise:

Business, Science, Engineering & Technology, Medical devices

Dr Simon Poole

Board Member

Dr Simon Poole is an engineer/entrepreneur with over 30 years experience in photonics in research, academia and industry.  He has been involved in start-ups in both Academia and Industry for the majority of this time and is renowned both for his contribution to the technology of photonics as well as the companies he has founded.

Area of Expertise:

Photonics, Optics, Commercialisation

Dr Rowan Gilmore

Board Member, Member of Audit and Risk Management Committee

Rowan Gilmore is the CEO of EM Solutions Pty Ltd, an Australian designer and manufacturer of advanced microwave components, systems and terminals used in satellite and wireless broadband communications networks around the world. Until June 2011 he was CEO of the Australian Institute for Commercialisation, where he helped numerous start-up companies and worked to accelerate technology transfer between research institutions and industry. Prior to this role, he worked extensively in the ICT industry, and was formerly based in London and Geneva from 1998 as Vice President of Network Services (Europe) for the airline IT company SIT A, now France Telecom’s Orange subsidiary. He is a Fellow of the Australian Academy of Technological Sciences and Engineering, previous Chairman of the ARC Centre of Excellence in Engineered Quantum Systems, and is an adjunct professor at the University of Queensland in the School of Information Technology and Electrical Engineering. He is also a Director of Universal Motion Simulator Pty Ltd.

Area of Expertise:

Information technology, Electrical engineering

Get Enlightened by ANFF

ANFF now offers nanofabrication training online. Click the button below to visit our learning resource, ANFF Enlightened, and gain the fab knowledge required to take your R&D further.

Visit ANFF Enlightened