Capability directory

Types of fabrication



Or use capability keyword(s)

Wael Al AbdullaProfessional officer - University of Queensland, QLD node

Dr Thomas AmeringerInstrument Scientist - Swinburne University, VIC node

Martin AmsProfessional Officer - Macquarie University, OptoFab node

Jarek AntoszewskiMBE growth engineer - University of Western Australia, WA node

Dr Benedicta ArhatariInstrument manager - LaTrobe University, VIC node

Dr Arhatari's research was largely gained using a microfocus laboratory x-ray source, the micro Computed Tomography system at the Physics Department, La Trobe University. Her responsibilities included the day-to-day operation of the x-ray source, the construction of an imaging experiment and the use of appropriate position sensitive x-ray detectors. Dr Arhatari's research includes the development and testing of the theory on optimising phase imaging performance. This is done using simulation, experimental and analytic work to analyse models of coherence and polychromaticity as applied to general imaging. The studies of the imaging system are done in the presence of real world systematics and demonstrate 3D phase imaging of real samples.

Syed AshrafSynthesis Officer - University of Wollongong, Materials node

David BarberTechnical Officer - University of New South Wales, New South Wales node

Matt BarrSupport Officer - University of Newcastle, Materials node

Chris BassellProfessional Officer - University of South Australia, SA node

Gordon BatesLaboratory Technical Manager - University of New South Wales, New South Wales node

Dr Stephen BeirneAdditive Fabrication Manager - University of Wollongong, Materials node

Stephen joined the Intelligent Polymer Research Institute (IPRI) in May 2010 and has been working on materials processing methods by means of inkjet and extrusion printing techniques. He is also implementing a suite of commercial rapid prototyping systems that will be employed as development tools for future devices produced by the IPRI.

Donghoon ChangProfessional Officer - University of South Australia, SA node

Dr Lien ChauSenior Professional officer Lithography and Microfluidics - University of Queensland, QLD node

Jeffrey CheungProcess Engineer - University of New South Wales, New South Wales node

Anthony ChristianSenior Operations Engineer - Griffith University, QLD node

Anthony joined the QMNC in 2007 bringing 20 years experience in the Semiconductor manufacturing business. A time served, masters degree Engineer, he is responsible for maintaining the availability of equipment and facilities.

Prof Justin Cooper-WhiteNode director - University of Queensland, QLD node

Professor Justin Cooper-White is the director of the ANFF Queensland node and Associate Dean (Research) for The University of Queensland’s Faculty of Engineering, Architecture and Information Technology. He is a biological engineer and Group Leader at the Australian Institute for Bioengineering and Nanotechnology.

Dr Nadia CourtProjects Manager - University of New South Wales, New South Wales node

Nora CowenAdministrative Officer - University of New South Wales, New South Wales node

Sukanta DebbarmaProcess Engineer - Australian National University, ACT node

Joint appointment with CUDOS

Simon DoeFacility manager - University of South Australia, SA node

Simon is the Facility manager of the South Australian ANFF node and has a background in materials engineering and joining. He has over twenty years experience in product design and development and was recently in industry as a development manager for a medical device company. He has worked with the CSIRO in the Division of Manufacturing Science and Technology and with a start-up medical device company involved with catheter tracking technologies.

Shan DonANFF Design House Coordinator - Melbourne Centre for Nanofabrication, VIC node

Shan works at MCN in a part time capacity at the ANFF Design House Coodinator. With more than 18 years IT experience in a variety of organisations and locations (including Russia, Sri Lanka and the USA), Shan brings a broad range of technical expertise to the Design House project. Shan holds a Bachelor of Science and a Masters of Science as a Systems Engineer from Vladimir State University, Russia.

Alastair DowlerExtrusion and Fibre Fabricator - University of Adelaide, OptoFab node

Prof Andrew DzurakNSW Node Director - University of New South Wales, New South Wales node

Andrew Dzurak is the director of the ANFF NSW node and a Scientia Professor of Nanoelectronics in the School of Electrical Engineering and Telecommunications at UNSW. He is one of Australia’s leading experts in nanoelectronics and quantum computing technologies, has a PhD from the University of Cambridge and established Australia’s highest resolution electron-beam lithography capability at the UNSW, offering nanoelectronic device feature sizes down to 10 nanometers. Andrew with Bob Clark (formerly Australia’s Chief Defence Scientist) and other colleagues established the Centre for Quantum Computer Technology in January 2000 which is now the ARC Centre of Excellence for Quantum Computation and Communication Technology.

Dr Heike Ebendorff-HeidepriemUOA Node Manager - University of Adelaide, OptoFab node

A/Prof Heike Ebendorff-Heidepriem received the Ph.D. degree in chemistry from the University of Jena, Germany, in 1994, where she continued her research on optical glasses until 2000. During 2001-2004 she was with the Optoelectronics Research Centre at the University of Southampton, UK, working on novel photosensitive glasses and soft glass microstructured optical fibres with record high nonlinearity. Since 2005, she has been with the University of Adelaide, Australia. Currently, she is one of the leaders of the Optical Materials & Structures Theme at the Institute for Photonics & Advanced Sensing at The University of Adelaide. Heike has published over 170 refereed journal papers and conference proceedings. Her research focuses on the development of mid-infrared, high-nonlinearity and active glasses; glass, preform and fibre fabrication techniques and surface functionalisation of glass.

Dr Fatima EftekhariProcess Engineer - Melbourne Centre for Nanofabrication, VIC node

Fatima obtained her PhD in Electrical and Computer Engineering specialized in Plasmonic and Nanophotonic from University of Victoria, Canada in 2009. She also holds a Bachelor’s of Science in Physics from Sharif University of Technology, Tehran, Iran. After her PhD, she joined Photonics Group at University of Toronto, Canada, as a postdoctoral research fellow to work on Optofluidic-Assisted Raman Spectroscopy. In late 2011, she came to Melbourne to work with MCN Technology Fellow, Dr Tim Davis of CSIRO on Plasmonic circuits for optical signal processing at subwavelength scales.

She has worked extensively in the field of nanostructured Metamaterials and subwavelength Plasmonic devices using Focused Ion and Electron Beams. At MCN, Fatima is responsible for the FEI DualBeam Focused Ion Beam Scanning Electron Microscope (FIB-SEM), FEI Nova NanoSEM as well as an assistant manager for Electron Beam Lithography (EBL) instrument.