Capability directory

Types of fabrication



Or use capability keyword(s)

Latest news

Professor Justin Cooper-White: Marshall and Warren Award

The UQ Australian Institute for Bioengineering and Nanotechnology’s Professor Justin Cooper-White was awarded the Marshall and Warren Award for the most innovative and potentially transformative grant from the 2015 project grants funding round.

His project, Direct reprogramming of adult cardiac fibroblasts to functional cardiomyocytes through targeted delivery, aims to restore damaged heart tissue to a functional state following injury.

“Current therapies have limited abilities to repair damaged heart tissue, but reprogramming cardiac fibroblasts could restore healthy function for survivors of heart disease” Professor Cooper-White said.

The proposal was developed with UQ School of Biomedical Sciences’ Dr Enzo Porello and AIBN’s Professor Ernst Wolvetang.

Clunies Ross Entrepreneur of the Year Award for 2016 - ANFF director Dr Elaine Saunders

ANFF congratulates, Director, Dr Elaine Saunders, who last night (15 June 2016) received the Clunies Ross Entrepreneur of the Year Award for 2016 at the ATSE Innovation Dinner held in Sydney.

The 450 present learnt of Elaine's major contributions in audiology and in founding the highly successful company, Blamey Saunders hears.

US - Australia Enabling Technologies Technical Exchange Meeting 2016

To build on the strong history of science and technology collaboration between the United States and Australia, the 2016 Enabling Technologies Technical Exchange Meeting will be held in Sydney, Australia in May 2016.

View more

Applications for the 2017 Round of the Endeavour Scholarships and Fellowships are now open

The Endeavour Scholarships and Fellowships are the Australian Government’s competitive, merit-based scholarships and fellowships providing opportunities for Australians to undertake study, research or professional development overseas and for overseas citizens to do the same in Australia.

View more

Australia Enabling Technologies Technical Exchange Meeting hotel accommodation

Hotel accommodation for the upcoming Australia Enabling Technologies Technical Exchange Meeting ia available at US - Australia Enabling Technologies Technical Exchange Meeting 2016 web page.

AusMedTech ANFF business breakfast Wednesday 11 May 2016

From little (nano) things big things grow: New advances in nano-biotechnology research


This session will provide an update on new technologies evolving from the research sector, including:

- Nano-medicine: Drug delivery, regenerative medicine and cell therapy; and
- Biophotonics sensors: Creating windows into the body.

It will also include a Q&D session on how companies can engage with Australian Researchers and ANFF to bring such technologies to market.

Chair: Dr Warren McKenzie, Business Development Manager, Australian National Fabrication Facility (ANFF).
Speakers:Prof Mark Hutchinson, Director, ARC Centre of Excellence for Nanoscale BioPhotonics , University of Adelaide.
Prof Nico Voelcker, UniSA Node Leader, ARC Centre of Excellence in ConVergent Bio-Nano Science and Technology, University of South Australia.
Q & A Moderator: Dr Stuart Hazel, Managing Director, Fusidium.

CSIRO Postdoctoral Fellowship - Nanofabricated Photocatalysts

CSIRO Postdoctoral Fellows provide opportunities to scientists and engineers, who have completed their doctorate and have less than three years relevant postdoctoral work experience. These fellowships will help launch their careers, provide experience that will enhance their career prospects, and facilitate the recruitment and development of potential leaders for CSIRO.

View more

Prime Minister Malcolm Turnbull opens a new cutting edge quantum computing lab at UNSW

The new laboratory complex doubles the capacity of the UNSW headquarters of the ARC Centre of Excellence for Quantum Computation and Communication Technology, CQC2T – a globally unique facility dedicated to the development of atomically precise devices in silicon. view/download

Poster awards 7th Australia and New Zealand Nano-Microfluidics Symposium 21-23 March 2016

The winners of the ANFF -SA sponsored piostyer award at the 7th Australia and New Zealand Nano-Microfluidics Symposium Brisbane on 21-23 March 2016 were:

(1) Amplification-Free Detection of Gene Fusions in Prostate Cancer Urinary Samples Using mRNA-Gold Affinity Interaction
Mr Kevin M. Koo, AIBN, The University of Queensland; and
(2) Surface Acoustic Wave Particle Manipulation and Sorting : Reducing the Acoustic Wavelength Down to the Particle Size
Mr Citsabehsan Devendran, Monash University;

IPOS Seminar: At the speed limit and at the boundaries of the measurable with Prof. Dr. Ursula Keller

Date: Wednesday, 13 April 2016 Time: 3.00 – 4.00 pm
Venue: Sydney Nanoscience Hub, Harry Messel Lecture Theatre, The University of Sydney

View more